h1

read, cook, eat: I am giving away cans of Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk (but there’s a catch) UPDATED & MYSTERY SOLVED

January 10, 2012

Jean's Lemon Delight, in all its incomplete glory. Come up with the directions to make these ingredients into a lovely slice and win a can of Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk. Photo by Denise Duguay

Editor’s note: Late-night blogging serves no one well. The original version of the recipe omitted the eggs. The management is wishing she had a minion, on whom to blame this.

Couple months back, I walked into our lunchroom at The Gazette and was shocked to speechlessness. There was a colleague pouring Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk into a coffee cup. IN FULL VIEW OF OTHER ADULTS. He explained, when I recovered, that he was making some sort of obviously amazing coffee. Whatever. The incident did not impress my with its genius blending of coffee and super sweetness. It was the rawness of the thing.

You see, I have my share of the milky, molten nectar of the sugar-buzz gods. I have had it on ice cream, I have poured it (sloppily) on a chunk of high-test dark chocolate, I have creamed it onto toast (white bread only please, and the more butter, the better, duh). I have not bothered even with those diversions. I sucked it out of the can through those triangle holes left by those old can openers (perfect!). I have just poured it down my gullet and NOT BRUSHED MY TEETH IMMEDIATELY (which was a mistake; major tooth throbbing that took days to quell).

But all of these things I have done under cover of locked apartment door. And that was part of the fun. Reaching back to a childhood of stealing the dregs out of the can leftover from some slice or other my mother had made. Or actually opening a new can (thus forcing myself to dispatch the entire tin, from which I broke no sweat) and hoping she’d forget she’d had one on deck. The thievery made it better, made the sugar buzz brighter. But this colleague! He was just drinking it, right there in front of other adults! So I’m emboldened. I’m outta the closet.

I’m cracking open a tin (doesn’t everybody have a Costco three-pack in the pantry?) and although the goal is a good swig of the EBSCM, I’m not a wasteful thug. So Im also going to make one of my grandmother’s slices… Yes I have it right here, from her red tin recipe box: Lemon Delight. It calls for 1-1/2 cups (375 ml.) Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk and … Wait, that means I have to open two 300 ml tins, which means … Yes it does! It means there will be plenty left over. Now where’s that bar of dark chocolate I was saving …

Jean’s Lemon Delight

1 cup rolling-pin crushed Graham Crackers

6 T white sugar

3 T butter

2eggs (separated)

1-1/2 cups Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk

1 T lemon zest

1/2 cup lemon juice

1 cup flaked coconut

Directions (courtesy of @i_am_mandie who has deferred her victory can of Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk – she’s vegan – but wins for providing a winning set of instructions for what to do with Grandma Jean’s lists of indients, above)

Melt the butter and combine it with the crushed graham crackers. Press that mixture into a pie pan. Bake 5 minutes at 300 C to set. (this last bit about baking it is my suggestion. dd)

Beat yolks until pale yellow. Add yolks to the condensed milk, lemon zest and lemon juice.

Pour that mixture into the pie crust.

Add sugar to egg whites and beat to form stiff peaks. Fold flaked coconut into the egg whites and dollop onto the yolk/lemon mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees (everything bakes at 350 degrees) until set.

And … Well, here’s the rub. There’s nothing else on the recipe card. So this has been a diabolical plot to crowdsource the directions here.

Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk, nectar of the gods. Photo by Denise Duguay

Best guesses / pleas for help:

 

  • Crumbs, sugar, butter are creamed? mixed? into a crust and pressed to the side of an 8-by-8 pan or so. And then baked for 3 or so minutes at 325C?
  • The milk, zest, juice, eggs are …? Just mixed and poured into the shell and baked? Or mixed and cooked in a sauce pan until dreamily thick then poured into the shell and refrigerated? And why are the eggs separated?
  • And what’s with the coconut? In the filling? Atop the filling, once poured into the crust. And then? Bake the whole thing? Drink it down?
  • Forget the whole thing and just chug the two cans of sweetened condensed milk?

Won’t you help a friend with a jones for Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk? The first two to unlock the mystery of Jean’s Lemon Delight will be paid in Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk.

 

Go!

7 comments

  1. Oh my – the possibilities are endless! I’m sick with the flu and needed the distraction though so thanks!

    Here’s one suggestion:

    Try: melting the butter and combining it with the crushed graham crackers. Press that mixture into a pie pan.

    Beat yolks until pale yellow.

    Add sugar to egg whites and beat to form stiff peaks.

    Add yolks to the condensed milk, lemon zest and lemon juice.

    Pour that mixture into the pie crust.

    Fold flaked coconut into the egg whites and dollop onto the yolk/lemon mixture.

    Bake at 350 degrees (everything bakes at 350 degrees) until set.


    • Whoa. I will definitely be trying this. I think you are a winner my dear!


      • Hi Denise – Hard not to be a winner if I’m the only one (grin). I’ve been thinking though, perhaps cooking the yolk, lemon and milk mixture first, like you said, before pouring it in the shell would also be a good idea? And I suppose the coconut could be mixed in there too – though I like the idea of it folded into the meringue. Let me know if you try it – I would love to know if it works! As for the prize – I’m a vegan so feel free to donate or slurp the prize yourself!


      • Vegan! Let me think.

        Sent from my iPad


    • lovely. i just brought it to work, at The Gazette, and a feeding-frenzy of taste-testers loved it better than the other mystery-recipe Lemon Slice from Grandma Jean. Recipe will be adjusted. big thanks to @i_am_mandie for unlocking the mystery list of ingredients.


  2. So Denise …… have you tried it yet? Don’t leave me hanging!


  3. Hi Denise, I am delighted my attempt at instructions was useful and you ended up with a tasty result. I kept second-guessing the pouring in of the egg yolk mixture without cooking it first – I thought for sure the meringue would brown too much before the yolk mixture was properly cooked. I had horrors of you all getting food-poisoning! The recipe would probably also work if you cooked the yolk mixture, poured it in the baked (great idea by the way) crust, cooled until set and then added the meringue with a final finish in the oven. I have a non-vegan friend I bake for and I think I’ll try the recipe out on her. Anyway, I’m glad you all enjoyed it and thanks for the distraction. Anytime.



Leave a Reply

