h1

Proust Questionnaire 5.0: Denise Duguay, interviewed by Mother

January 11, 2012

I figured if I’m going to make some of you lot sweat over these couple dozen questions, I should be willing to do it myself. But this, in a break from the norm around 11th ave., is not just about me. Jan. 17 is my mom’s birthday and in honour of the late great Betty Tomkins, here is the audio recording of Betty asking me the questions from the 11th ave version of the questionnaire made famous by Marcel Proust’s answers, and by Vanity Fair and other coattail-riders (more about the PQ 5.0 at bottom of this post). Just below the audio link is also a kind of triptych of photos of Betty, taken by me on the same day in September 2009, at Winnipeg’s Health Science’s Centre, in the Cancer Care treatment area. She was getting a blood transfusion and still in not only good spirits, but revealing that she should long have been hosting a talk show. Hope you enjoy it. I know I did. Happy birthday Mother.

If you’re utterly charmed by Betty, you might also enjoy her own answers to the Proust Q 5.0 from May 2009.

Admit it. You read those celebrity Q&As and you know you’re easily as worthy of being profiled. I know I do, but my friends are way more interesting. So, with nods to the “confession albums” of the late 1800s  made famous by the fabulous Marcel Proust’s answers, to French TV host Bernard Pivot who adapted the questionnaire, to Inside the Actors Studio host James Lipton who gave it another spin and to Vanity Fair, which uses its own elegantly spun version to anchor the magazine’s back pages, I submit for your entertainment and enlightenment, my own version of the Proust Questionnaire, re-retooled for a blog age.

Leave a Reply

