h1

11th ave, the fifth-anniversary edition

April 11, 2014

Five years ago, I started this blog in part to give myself a regular deadline (which I, lately, have semi-regularly ignored, but never mind) and to shine a brief light on interesting things I find here and there, on the web or in the portfolios of my friends. When I have the time and inspiration, my fave entry is the Proust Questionnaire 5.0, which leans back to the old parlour game/personality profile and updates it with a few questions of my own. The original writing is a rarity, but all the more precious, not only to me but in that I can share it with you all. The first piece of my writing that I published on this blog was the following poem, which I must confess I love. I get to be proud and braggy, though just for today. Here is that poem and I hope you enjoy a rather good edition, if I do say so, of 11th ave for April 2014.

Elemental

Throw my ashes
off the pier
at the end of 11th Avenue
over the highway and
down the road from
where my parents
in the creaking honeymoon bed
of the old family cabin
rubbed and rubbed
against their fates
until a spark
flew up and out
the window, igniting
the cigarette
my grandmother
had been trying to light,
standing under their bedroom window
growing cold
as she waited
for this sign, watching
the lake waters rise
up the road,
up the steps,
up her bare leg
until that first drag,
her first breath of me
of a chain of smoke rings
that held, while she
tapped ash, tapped me
into the flood tide
now rushing back
to the shore
to the pier
where the rest
of my ashes are now
falling
home.

April 2005
– Denise Duguay

3 comments

  1. That’s so wonderful, Denise. What a beautiful piece of writing. “her first breath of me …” Love it!


  2. That is fabulous. It reads almost like an epic oil painting.


    • Very kind Holly



Leave a Reply

